This guidance was written by Emily Barrington, Elise Baseley, and Michael Hodge of the Office for Statistics Regulation. We extend our thanks to everyone who helped us to curate material for this guidance as well as provide detailed and helpful comments. Special thanks go to the following individuals who provided comments on this version of the guidance:

  • Alec Waterhouse
  • Anne Trefethen
  • Arthur Turrell
  • Catherine Seale
  • Professor David Hand
  • Sir David Spiegelhalter
  • Louisa Blackwell
  • Sarah Livermore
  • Sonia Williams
  • Tim Knight
  • Shakeel Khan
  • Simon Whitworth

As well as the following organisations who we have spoken to during this version of the guidance:

  • The Alan Turing Institute
  • Cabinet Office
  • Centre for Applied Data Ethics, UK Statistics Authority
  • Data Science Campus, ONS
  • Department for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy
  • Department for Work and Pensions
  • HM Treasury
  • Office for National Statistics
  • United Kingdom Hydrographic Office
  • University of Oxford
  • Validate AI

Finally, thanks to our colleagues in the Office for Statistics Regulation who helped shape this guidance.

Back to top
Download PDF version (346.69 KB)